Vegan chili and ice cream cake

I have a dream.

Not to change the world, but cook in utter silence.
By silence I mean: complete absence of sound, quietness, quiet, quietude, still, stillness, hush, tranquillity, noiselessness, soundlessness, peace, peacefulness, peace and quiet.

I don’t want to hear Maa in every 5 seconds.

But, dreams do not necessarily come true. So, for now, have to put up with the noise.

Still, I have the dream…. May be…somedays….

Well, along all the commotions, yesternight I cooked vegan chili sans chili and lots of vegetables.

Ingredients:

Sweet potato 1/2 cup
Potato 1/4 cup
Zucchini 1/2 cup
Carrots 1/2 cup
Onions 1/4 cup
Red beans 1 cup
Canned diced tomato
Soya yogurt
Curry powder 1 tbsp
Cumin powder 1 tbsp
Fresh ginger paste 1 tsp
Cilantro for garnishing

Chop the veggies finely. Heat oil in skillet. Sauté the vegetables till tender. Add the beans. Sauté more. Add the spices. Here add a little bit of water so that the spices get incorporated with the veggies.

20150517-103828.jpg

When the spices are cooked and the ginger no longer emit raw smell, add canned tomato. Cook in high heat. Tomatoes should always be cooked in high heat, or they will smell raw.

Wait till tomatoes are cooked. Then put on simmer. Whisk the soya yogurt and add slowly. Cook for another 5 minutes in low heat.
Garnish with cilantro and yogurt.

20150517-104127.jpg

Now, the second dish. I read quite a few times about ice cream cake. The principle is to add equal parts of ice cream and self raising flour. I had an unfinished box of icecream, which none was interested to finish. I still had 1/2 cup of ice cream remaining.

20150517-104744.jpg

I mixed 1/2 cup of all purpose flour and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and a pinch of salt. Into the oven, 170 degree celcius for around 30 minutes. I knew it won’t rise and the amount of the batter is too less to bake a proper cake. I would call it a sheet cake 😉

Surprisingly, the cake came out very moist and it tasted exactly like the ice cream. I cut it into bite sized pieces.

20150517-105242.jpg

I think, I should explore more with the ice creams :)… Stay tuned for more 🙂

This entry was posted in cake, cooking, DIY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

