Ricotta Cheese Apple Pie

Every dish has its own story. Don’t you think so?

I started cooking not very early in my life. Since childhood, I had seen my mother, aunts, grandma cooking – it was mostly observation with a few hands-on adventures. Every dish has a narrative side of its own. In my case, most of the time the narration was about mess :). I did not understand the ease behind my mother, aunts’ or grandma’s cooking skills came from years and years of experience. Thats why my first few attempts were pretty much predestined to fail. My first cakes turned out soggy, breads disastrous, sad rice dishes and equally sad vegetable dishes with inherent imbalance of salt and sweet.

Over the years, I observed other great (household) cooks, shared tips and tricks, researched (ahem!), took little steps and sometimes even leaps of faith  (wich not necessarily always ended up in a dryland – read soup :)), incorporated my own nuances here and there to make a dish mine.

For quite a few times, rose apple thing is a rage over internet. At the first glance, I admit, it looked quite intimidating with intricate detailing.  Still, I wanted to give it a try.

rcapie

Here is my version. I used Ricotta cheese filling for the pie. I have a thing for this ricotta cheese. Its lightweight and can blend in ease with both sweet and savoury flavours.

My ingredients :

  1. For pie crust: 12 digestive biscuits, ground.
  2. 80 g butter for the pie crust.
  3. For filling: 125 g  of ricotta cheese
  4. 75 g  all purpose flour
  5. 80 g butter
  6. 2 eggs in room temperature
  7. 100 g sugar
  8. 2 apples thinly sliced
  9. 1 tsp baking powder
  10. A pinch of salt

Grind the dgestive biscuits and mix butter. Grease a baking dish and spread the biscuit- butter mix in a layer. Press with a spoon. Bake the layer for about 15 minutes in a prehated oven at 175° C.  Keep aside and let it cool.

Now, for the filling, combine all other ingredients except the apple slices. Pour the filling over the crust. Now arrange the thin apple slices as rose petals on the filling surface. Don’t worry, the roses may not always look like roses :). Sometimes, imperfection is perfection.

Bake the pie for about 40 minutes or till toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Here is the end product :

pie2

Bon Apetito !!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

